printable version

About CEC

Catholic Education Commission NSW

The Catholic Education Commission NSW was established by the NSW Bishops in 1974 and is responsible to them for funding contract management, advocacy and representation of Catholic education at a state level. The Commission is governed by the CEC charter approved by the NSW Bishops.

The Commission provides leadership in Catholic education, through service to Dioceses, Religious Institutes and Parents. It functions through consultation with Diocesan Directors, Religious Institutes, Principal and Parent associations.

The Commission will witness to its own commitment to Christ as part of the Church's mission of education in faith and will model and promote a faith relationship with Christ.

The Commission has no authority to become involved in the administration of Diocesan system schools or Congregational schools, except in relation to funding contract management.

The Commission's meetings are held monthly from February to November.

The Strategic Directions for 2016 can be found here:

NSW Catholic Block Grant Authority

In 1986 the Trustees of the Province of Sydney and Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn, formed an authority known as the "NSW Catholic Block Grant Authority" which is the Contract Authority for capital and capital related Block Grants received from the Australian Government and its agencies, for distribution to Catholic Schools in New South Wales. The Trustees will carry out the objects and functions set out in the CBGA Charter in relation to the CBGA. The CBGA Delegate is Most Reverend Peter Comensoli DD. The CBGA Delegate has contracted for administrative services with the CEC.